top of page

History of the Jackson Golf Club

(written October, 1972)


Forty-five year ago, the Jackson Golf Club was a dream of only a handful of individuals.  Today, the Jackson Golf Club is one of the best nine-hole in the entire region.


In 1928, the game of golf was new to most of the charter members of Jackson.  However, drive and determination developed the first course south of Jackson on the Petersburg Road.  Grass greens, watered fairways, a club house, practice greens, and sandtraps were not part of the first Jackson Golf Club.  In fact, most of the improvements were not added until a few years ago.


The first official annual meeting of the Club was February 14, 1928.  R.P. Hansen was the first president.  The charter Board of Directors was O.C. Sathe, C.M. Shearer, A.J. Feddes, W.W. Wold, Dr. Biorn, C.F. Mallahan, A.E. Wallce, and J.L. King.


Club by-laws were adopted in January on 1930.


Everett Salyards was the only man ever to ace a hole on the olf golf course, sinking a hole-in-one on #9.


Golfers used to have their names stamped on all balls.  When someone would find a ball, they would turn it into the club and the owner would it back for 10 cents.  The revenue from lost balls in 1930 was $36.85.


In 1931, the annual dues were $10 a year.  Cash on hand at the end of 1931 was $1.73.


In the early days, the club members were responsible for the upkeep of the course.  In 1932, each green was kept by four members and reconditioned as the four members saw fit.  A caretaker was hired later at a rate of 35 cents per hour.  C.M. Shearer was the first caretaker.  Green fees in 1933 were 25 cents a round, 50 cents a day, or $2 a week. 


In 1934, under president W.C. Westby, members were instructed to solicit members from Lakefield, Windom, and Mt. Lake.  Annual dues were $5 for non-residents.  In February of 1943, the club sold the tractor and other equipment and agreed to sell the club not less than $400.  The club house was a shelter which members used for , visiting, etc.  When the club house was bought, members donated the money.  After is was sold for $350, the money was back to the members.


The remainder of 1943 and 1944 the Jackson Golf Club was almost closed as most golfers were serving in World War II.  The Club was without a president for these two years.  During this time, the course was turned into a pasture and never again used for golfing.


Men started returning from World War II in 1945.  Dr. W.B. Wells, who was the president in 1941 and 1942, took over the responsibilities again, which he kept until 1947.


On May 27, 1947, the Club was incorporated.  This was the start of today's facilities.  Later, in 1947, Ben Lovekin, a golf professional at Worthington, was hired to draw plans for a new course.  He fee was $100.  After the course was designed, the club membership started the job of planting grass.  Because of conditions, the grass had to be planted three times before it finally started to grow.


More and more were starting to golf now and the need for a club house was brought before the Board of Directors.  In 1949, the estimated cost of a club house was $27,000.  The Board felt this was too high and turned down the proposal.  However, at the June 1, 1949 meeting, the Club decided to borrow $12,500 from the Wrede Brothers at four percent to finance part of the construction costs of a club house.  The Board also decided to enter into a contract with the N.R. Wallin Co. for the construction.  Since 1949, many changes have been made to the club house.  Some of the changes have been additions, basement storage, kitchen improvments, etc.  Also, in 1949, a watering system for the fairways was first discussed.  The clubhouse was officially opened on July 9, 1950.


Besides club house and course improvements, the Club did not make any major investments until 1967 when a decision was made to build a 30 x 75 foot cart house southwest of #6 green.  This year, 1972, an additional cart house was built.


Stag night was changed from Thursday night to Wednesday night in 1955 to cooperate with the downtown businessmen.


In April of 1965 the Board gave approval to build a pond below #8 tee-off.


Watered fairways was again brought before the Board in 1967.  In 1968 the Board authorized $500 for a preliminary survey to determine the needs and specifications for a fairway watering system.  Also, in 1968, the Board authorized the Club to borrow $11,500 for improvements to the club house.  Later, in 1968, the Board authorized the expendure of an amount not to exceed $20,000 for a complete new course watering system which included a fairway and greens watering system.  The bid was $16,218 for the watering system.  On October 15, 1968, the membership expressed interest that the Club should start thinking about an 18-hole golf course.


In 1969, the Club decided to rent golf carts from Harley-Davidson on a 60%-40% basis.  In July, 1969, the motion was approved to black-top the road to the golf cart house.


In July, 1970, the Club bought six used electric carts from Harley-Davidson.  A steel building was erected to house ground equipment. 


In looking back, we found old rules for moving golf balls.  Ball may be moved if it is in a gopher hole, badger hole, cow path, or cow pie.


Caddies could be used but must not charge over 15 cents for each 9 holes.


Lee Cushman's count for registration to play golf during the 1972 season was 7500 plus.


Golf Club Presidents


1928  R.P. Hansen

1928  Dr. N.A. Biorn

1929  F.M. Holecek

1930  I.W. Mahoney

1931  I.W. Mahoney

1932  I.W. Mahoney

1933  W.C. Westby

1934  W.C. Westby

1935  O.E. Sathe

1936  E.H. Warren

1937  L.M. Hruby

1938  Emmet Amdahl

1939  K.V. Muir

1940  Leo Winzenburg

1941  Dr. W.B. Wells

1942  Dr. W.B. Wells

1943  No president because of WWII

1944  No president becasue of WWII

1945  Dr. W.B. Wells

1946  Dr. W.B. Wells

1947  Dr. W.B. Wells

1948  Boyd K. Holecek

1949  Boyd K. Holecek

1950  Boyd K. Holecek

1951  Stanley Nestegard

1952  Stanley Nestegard

1953  Leo Winzenburg

1954  B.E. Grottum

1955  George Rogentine

1956  Kenneth Muir

1957  Charles C. Ayres

1958  Merrill Stolp

1959  Charles Hale

1960  A.J. Seierstad

1961  A.J. Seierstad

1962  Frank Matuska

1963  Rodney Muir

1964  Lee Marquart

1965  Bob Burnham

1966  Fred Thies

1967  Dr. L.M. Benson

1968  Dave Stolp

1969  Jerry Retterath

1970  John Lundblad

1971  Marv Hugunin

1972  Curt Dietz

bottom of page